On being a mermaid…

Linden-Wolbert-opens-up-about-life-as-a-real-life-mermaid

I have always had a magnetism to water,” she told Yahoo! Shine in an interview. “I have always been fascinated with it, not just because of the animals that live in it, but because I feel so comfortable swimming in it. I just was always a swimmer and loved to be in the water.

Read more: http://www.upi.com/blog/2013/04/03/Linden-Wolbert-opens-up-about-life-as-a-real-life-mermaid/7671365001262/#ixzz2QHuCwJRJ

So…do you know what she did? Linden quit her job and became a mermaid. Simple as that.  
 
There is a yearning in my soul for change. Unlike Linden, the desire is nowhere near spending my life underwater. Just read here if you don’t believe me. However, I have an intensifying interest to explore something new.
 
Current discovery expedition underway…SpaGirl Tri.
 
 
Hook, line, and sinker. I was captivated when I saw this was the location for the swim. What a way to ease into the sport, huh? Especially for someone as leery of the swim as I am.
 
For the last ten weeks I have been working hard to stick with my training plan. It’s been a little tougher than expected to squeeze in all of the workouts, but I am ready to get out there next weekend, do the best I can and most of all have some fun.
 
The water and I…well, we are still learning to get along. We have our good days and our not so good days. More good days now that I’ve moved to the outdoor pool. I do love the sunshine!
 
pool love
 
I’m not quite sure I’d call it love yet, but at least I can say I’m moving in the opposite direction of fear. We can call that success, right?!
 
A mermaid, I will definitely never be, but the idea of being a mermaid will forever inspire me. To continue to stretch myself. To step out of my comfort zone. To experience new things. To overcome fears. To seek out a life that is both rewarding and fulfilling and never settle for boring.
 
Do you have an inspiration? Something or someone who keeps you focused on moving forward in life? What is it that motivates you to explore new things or push yourself to new limits? I’d love to hear your thoughts.
 
 
 
 
 
 
One thought on “On being a mermaid…

  1. […] of my biggest accomplishments during training was overcoming a fear of the pool. I still have a long way to go with my swimming technique, but I am no longer afraid to jump in and […]

Leave a Reply

