Adaptabilty and New Seasons

Adaptability is the ability to change to fit changed circumstances.

Overcoming an injury is probably one of the most frustrating things for an active person. Each and every time I am faced with re-visiting lessons on patience, perseverance, and adaptability. On Saturday mornings I sort my laundry and measure how the pile of athletic clothes stacks up to the rest. I’ll spare you the details on how the stinkiness factor weighs in this time. 🙂

Friends, I want you to know my athletic laundry pile looked pretty good this week.

laundry

If it’s been said once, it’s been said a thousand times…change is never easy. But, I would say that the hardest part of that is wrapping your head around the fact that there is a need for change. Once a person lifts their head out of the sand and realizes somethings gotta change, then the rest is gravy.

During week one post injury, my brain was still in the land of denial. Except for the fact that I could hardly walk straight without a painful reminder, I had not accepted the fact that for an extended period of time things would really need to look different. Yea yea, I got out and did a few things like swimming and more strength workouts, but it hadn’t really sunk in yet. So I mostly wandered around the gym with a pouty attitude, not finding much joy in the workouts.

Approached with a different perspective, week two post injury proved to be much more successful. I managed to get my heart rate up and squeeze in a few schweaty workouts on the elliptical this week. And just because we are having a winter intermission here in Texas, and it’s mid-60’s and B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L outside, I got in  5 miles of walking. Adapting is underway!

Guess what else is underway? Spring season for Girls on the Run in San Antonio kicks off  TO-DAY!! I’m super excited to begin my second season with this amazing organization. Here is a little glimpse of some of the beautiful faces from last season. If you know a girl who is between third and eighth grade or you are interested in volunteering with this program, please click the link above to learn more. It’s not to late to sign up for this season. Can’t wait to share more with you as the Spring unfolds!

gotr spring 2013GOTR shoe night

 

gotr 5K winners gotr practice 5k

Leave a Reply

