Weekly Breakfast Plan

The crockpot is crockin’ some oatmeal  and the oven is baking up a batch of granola bars at this very moment. I’m sitting on my haunches, watching a little Texans football and thinking about squeezing in a little post-game workout.

My breakfast usually consists of oatmeal, greek yogurt, and a piece of fruit. Traditionally, I’ve grabbed a packet of instant oatmeal and headed to the office where I could eat while I sadly waited AT LEAST the fifteen minutes it takes for my work computer to start-up and log in.  A couple of months ago, I decided to change it up a bit. So steel-cut oats found their way to my crockpot. And it was love from the get go.   

Crockpot Apple Cinnamon Steel Cut Oats

1 cup steel-cut oats

1 1/2 cup of almond milk

1 1/2 cup of water

3 Tbsp brown sugar

1/4 tsp. salt

2 tsp cinnamon

2 cored and chopped apples

Add everything to crockpot that has been sprayed with non-stick spray and cook on low for 6-7  hours. This recipe makes about 8 servings, which I re-heat during the week with a small tab of butter and a couple teaspoons of water. Perfect, quick, and easy breakfast on the run.

It’s smelling good in here. I think I need a snack.

Now, let’s talk about crockpots. Do you have one of those fancy digital timer ones?

crockpot

I. do. not. It’s manual, two-speed all the way in mi casa, friends. How much would I love one of those fancy digital timer ones, though???

this much

 

Leave a Reply

