Foodie Friday

This Foodie Friday is dedicated to my sister, who keeps asking me to post recipes.

I am not sure I actually consider myself a “foodie,” but I like food. I like eating food. I like preparing food. And in the right places, I like shopping for food.

Meal planning comes and goes for me and this week was totally one of those weeks where it was gone. I stopped by the grocery store on Sunday evening, but was too tired  to really put much thought into what I was picking up. So I grabbed a little of this and a little of that and hoped for the best. Fail safe purchases are always a gallon of milk and a gigantic box of cereal.

Sometimes the best dishes are prepared in my kitchen on a wing and a prayer, though. Mid-week, I took some talapia filets out of the freezer but I was clueless until I walked in the door from work and saw that beauty of a squash sitting right on the kitchen counter. Big, fat, yellow goodness.

20121116-152039.jpg

Other than preparing risotto, spagetti squash is my next most favorite thing to cook. There is a fun factor involved that no other food can claim. So I scliced it in half, scooped out the seeds, and popped that baby in the oven on 375 for about a half hour.

Near the half hour mark I threw some butter and olive oil in a pan and sauted some garlic and mushrooms, added a little white wine and threw in some asparagus. While the asparagus cooked in the simmering pan, I dug in with a form to have some spagetti squash fun. If you have never prepared spagetti squash before, you really should. It will bring a smile to your face, I promise. Just grap a fork and start scraping and “wha-la!” you have the most beautiful pile of noodly looking squash you have ever seen.

20121116-152237.jpg
Picture from Steamy Kitchen.

I mixed my sauteed veggies in the white wine sauce with my spagetti squash and added a little salt and pepper for a tasty side with the pan seared cajun spicy talapia. It was the perfect compliment and made for a great standalone leftover lunch dish the following day plus a side dish another night to grilled porkshops. Spagetti squash comes in abundance and with only two mouths to feed, it lasts a while in my house.

Do you have a favorite thing to cook? How do you use spagetti squash? I am always looking for new things to cook and ways to mix up the regulars.

Leave a Reply

