Accountability, Safety, Boy Bands, and Pumpkin Oats

It’s a list kind of day…

1. Accountability– My schedule is FULL and CRAZY right now. Can anyone relate? Hello, Holidays! It’s so hard to be consistent with the workout schedule, so instead of beating myself up over it I just try taking full advantage of each workout I get and ramp up the intensity.

This week:
Monday- 3 mile run with hills.
Tuesday- Nada on the workout, but I’ll be listening to a beautiful Christmas concert tonight put on by the orchestra and choir at my son’s school
Wednesday- Lunch time Spin class and After work run with co-workers
Thursday- GOTR night! Last practice before race day!!
Friday- Lunch time strength workout
Saturday- GOTR 5K!!!
Sunday- Rest day

Yesterday I registered for 2 races and am hoping to squeeze in a half in the spring as well.
Race Schedule:
December 15- GOTR 5K

March 23- Zooma Women’s Series 5K (<– More about this, coming soon.)

2. Safety- Lately, as I head out for my neighborhood runs, there is a hesitancy that wells up within so strong that for a moment, I consider turning around and heading home. Over the Thanksgiving holiday I learned of a man who was killed by a motorist while out cycling one morning. It’s just this type of thing that can make me reconsider my neighborhood runs. Since the time change I have had to do more road running because the parks all close at dark. I run against the traffic in order to possibly avoid potential accidents; wear reflective and light clothing so as to be seen at night; and stopping at all intersection. But I came across this article yesterday on Runners World and found it to have some great tips, including some very real stories about motorist/runner accidents. Read it and run safe, friends.

3. Boy Bands- Mindless Behavior. I’ve been living under a rock apparently and had no idea who these guys were until those previous little ladies over at Girls on The Run wanted to listen to their music at last weeks practice 5K and end of the season celebration. Justin Bieber just got bumped down and replaced on my playlist.

We had a little dance party before heading out for our run this last week. I may or may not have learned some new dance moves. Hee hee.

gotr practice 5k

4. Slow Cooker Pumpkin Oats- Mix together and cook 6 hours on low in the slow cooker.

6 cups water

1 1/2 cups steel-cut oats

1 can pumpkin puree

1 cup brown sugar

1 Tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice mix

Then fill your belly with a scrumptious, hearty breakfast. When pumpkin is around, it’s one of the most wonderful times of the year!

P.S. I pin curled my hair last night. I wish it was Halloween today, because I would have made an awesome poodle.

Leave a Reply

