It’s time for giving thanks!

Are you one of those people who have committed to the 30 days of thankfulness on Facebook, Twitter, a blog, or whatever your social network of choice? I admire you so.

My person goal is to take some time each day for reflection on things for which I am thankful. There are seasons of my life in which I am much better at this than others, and unfortunately I think this year has probably been one of those less disciplined seasons. Never the less, I believe I’ll share a little with you.

A few things I am thankful for:

  • Thanksgiving! Heck, for almost an entire month people are just nicer. Although, Black Friday can make all of that niceness disappear faster than you can blink. It’s no coincidence that when our focus is shifted to something other than ourselves, we tend to be more likable, relatable, and genuinely happy.
  • Thanksgiving, again. Oh, the yummy foods!
  • Amazing grace! Because, what in the world would life be like without it.
  • Music. All kinds of music, but especially those artists that get my feet moving. These songs got me well past the 5K mark at RNR.

  • My family; my support system.
  • My crazy pup. She’s always there. I mean, ALWAYS. I can’t get away from her, but I love that girl!
  • All God’s creatures; great and small.

  • Girls on the Run. This organization is changing the lives of so many girls, including mine. I leave my heart with these girls every time I get to see them.

  • The American Cancer Society and Team DetermiNation. Although there will no longer be a team here in San Antonio, I am so grateful for the experiences I have had and so admire ACS.
  • Those who serve this country. Wow. Words do not express my gratitude.
  • An amazing restoration of my soul. The journey I have been on this year has felt long, but each step has made me a stronger woman.
  • Run skirts, tech shirts, compression socks, event coordinators…all things running.
  • Speaking of running, more of that great playlist that got me through the RNR 2012.

  • Food. I love all of it and I am so thankful to be able to purchase good quality, fresh foods nearly all of the time. I had a grown up grilled cheese sandwich tonight for dinner. Maybe I’ll share that recipe with you in a future post. Did you know it is possible to permanently lose your sense of taste? It breaks my heart that there are people out there that do not get to enjoy the flavors of all they eat.
  • Cold weather, winter boots, tights and big fluffy sweaters.
  • The beauty and intricacies of our natural world. From a clear night star-filled sky to the enormous ocean that moves with such grace and power as it ebbs and flows from one shore to another. How can we all not just be in awe of the world we live in?

  • Nina Simone singing New Day. There isn’t much better for turning your spirits around.
  • All of the amazing people I have met since moving to San Antonio a little over a year ago. You’ve made the transition so much easier.
  • Great schools with enthusiastic and caring teachers. All of you. Especially the ones that have endured my child.
  • J.T. We’ve been having a love affair since I started running a few years ago. You had me at SexyBack on my very first playlist. Thank you so much for getting me over that finish line last Sunday.

This list could go on and on and on, but I’ll wrap it up here. Besides, it’s nearly bedtime and I AM thankful for my bed. So thankful that I plan to get in it early this evening.

Oh, I almost forgot about Turkey Trots! Do you have one planned? I do! I do! It’s an extra special year because I get to run in the Triangle Therapeutics Turkey Trot with my sister which will be a first. What are you doing on Turkey day? Will you be hitting up the gym or participating in a Turkey Day run somewhere?

Leave a Reply

