Wiped out on a Wednesday

This was me just about an hour ago. Beat. We still had abs to go.

But, I’m not complaining. At least not yet anyway. Check back with me tomorrow and I’ll let you know if I still feel the same way.

Yesterday I went out with some hesitation for a track workout. Hesitation for two reasons. 1.) Who likes track workouts? I mean really, run so fast you feel like you want to puke, slow down for a bit, repeat, repeat, repeat, repeat. You get the picture. 2.) My nagging knee problem has re-surfaced and it made those repeats even less appealing.

There is this part of me that likes to deny that I might have a real injury. I’ll just push through the pain or pretend it’s not there sometimes. But, I reluctantly decided after the warm up to let the coach in on my little pain issue. I’m benched from running for the week. Only strength workouts allowed until Tuesday and then I get to jump right back on the horse with a Tuesday track workout. Yippee! <–said with much sarcasm. So after receiving the news, he advised I take off my shoes and socks and walk on the grass inside the track until workout time was up. This was interesting. I’m pretty sure I haven’t done that much barefoot grass walking since I was 10. Strangely, when I put my shoes back on to leave, I could really feel a difference. I’m not quite sure how to describe the feeling, but it was good. Good enough that I might make this a more regular habit. Anyone want to come walk barefoot in the grass with me?

On Sunday I roasted a chicken that was delish! While it was filling my house with the most delectable fragrance, I began to wonder if I loved the smell of a chicken roasting more than I loved the smell of chocolate chip cookies baking.

I  decided the only way to figure this out was to make a both. The verdict- I couldn’t decide. I feel that I will have to repeat this experiment again, and again, and again before I can come to an accurate conclusion.

Leave a Reply

